the barefaced backlash

by bellab

Bare skin, blah blah BLAH.

I’m sorry. I’m so over this already. Just call me Liz Jones (we all have our crosses to bear Liz, yours are crows feet, mine are spots). Standing in line for 17 minutes at the post office this lunchtime I found myself zoning into royal mail tv, trancelike, where they were showing, on a loop, an ad for the BearFaced campaign for Children in Need (to fill you in, this is where various celebrities and models, among them Heidi Klum, Louise Redknapp, Julia Bradbury and Lulu (lord, why?), have been photographed sans make-up by Rankin for a campaign to, erm, raise awareness? for Children in Need).

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE an altruistic gesture in the beauty industry, just see my last post, but I am struggling to link celebrities and models with good skin (that allegedly has not been retouched, riiiight ) going without make-up and the aforementioned Children…that are…in Need. How does this help them? What am I missing? Personally I’d have liked to see them do a ‘Waitrose’ on this, veto-ing the whole costly business and instead funneling the misguided budget of the entire hapless project directly to charity. And don’t tell me everyone waived their fees so there are no funds. What about the studio? And lunch? And cars for the talent? And the no-make-up-make-up-artists that certainly would have been in evidence? All free was it? Frankly, I’m baffled. I have nothing against the concept of make-up free skin in the media. It’s nice. Refreshing even. I just think it’s rich to ask normal women to forgoe make-up (and their confidence in many cases) in what is clearly not a level playing field. Lets have a cake sale instead eh?

And this on the back of Stylist who this week a ran a shot of a make-upless model on the cover of this week’s issue to advertise their skincare awards. Again. Playing field? Level? Does it surprise you that the majority of models actually have really beautiful skin? It’s their livelihood after all. A touch misleading methinks to suggest that any of the ‘winning’ brands, many of them big advertisers I might add, will help give you skin like the aforementioned dewy-complexioned model. But I at least think I see where there were going with it.

So it seems we’re in the grip of a barefaced phenomenon right now. One that’s great if you’re blessed with poreless, even skintone and horrid if you’re not. When I’m having a good skin day there’s nothing I like more than trotting to the shops with just a blot of lip balm and some eyebrow pencil. Post detox (yawn, sorry) I loved the fact I had to wear less make-up but slowly and surely, with deadlines looming and a smattering of forbidden foodstuffs infiltrating my diet again, the concealer had been on almost permanent standby. I guess what I’m getting at, not all that succinctly, is if you have lovely skin, I’m truly happy for you, I am. Just don’t expect other women to want to blaze your trail and whip out the wet wipes on request in the name of feeling liberated. Some people actually like wearing make-up. Skin is a delicate subject. The faces we construct for ourselves are our modern day armour. Even if like me, you’re a no-make-up make-up girl, it still takes a good 15 minutes to create the illusion. Children in Need don’t mind if we wear foundation. In fact, they weren’t even opposed to a bit of lipstick last time I checked…

*Image courtesy of Alexander Khokhlov via LaraJul

