como shambhala @ the metropolitan hotel

by bellab

When we visited Ubud in Bali (stick with me) earlier this year I fantasised about my good self and Mr Beautyhaul lolling around on rattan loungers in the legendary Como Shambhala estate, most probably sporting matching luxury crewel work kaftans from our adventures in Rajasthan.  Alas, none of the commissioning editors I contacted wanted me to review it so the closest we got were some heavy-handed massages from a couple of intimidating post-menopausal village ladies on Bingin beach. Oh, the contrast.

Ironically, now I’m back, I’ve learned that next weekend, London’s Metropolitan hotel will open a new Como Shambala outpost in the shape of its Urban Escape spa. The Shambhala brand USP is its holistic approach to wellness over and above a sense of indulgent, fluffy slipper luxury. In keeping with the more exotic CS destinations in the Maldives, Turks & Caicos and Bhutan (really, REALLY, want to go there…) the Urban Escape will offer a dedicated yoga space as well as six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles with their own steam rooms, and an in-house acupuncturist. If you need any further encouragement, they’ll also be the first UK spa to offer Dr Perricone’s legendary facials alongside their own heavenly-scented product line (buy at Cult Beauty to eek out the time between treatments). So maybe I can start living the dream afterall? Now, where did I put that kaftan…

