culinary cleansers

by bellab

A new cleanser always fills me with a kind of skin-transforming optimism. It is (or should be) the cornerstone of your beauty regime and if you pick the right one, can make cleansing feel more like pampering, rather than a functional grapple with a face-wipe. Both of these autumn launches are packing serious plant-based antioxidants proving it’s just as important what you put onto your skin, as well as onto your plate…

My latest sink-side crush is from Dr. Nicholas Perricone’s much-hyped SUPER brand. It’s the first product I’ve tried from the range that he dreamt up while researching material for a new book on superfoods. But my Perricone obsession is probably a whole other post…



So, back to cleansers. Sweet Clean, £25.50 (soon to launch in the UK at Boots) contains acai berry which is a powerful antioxidant as well as extracts of blueberry, apple, grape and raspberry. It’s a creamy formula that you massage into damp skin – my preferred application, always – and then wash off with warm water (I use a muslin cloth for good measure). I’ve only been using it a few weeks which have included several debauched and boozy nights out, so can’t report a huge change in my skin, but so far I like how it feels and, more importantly to my delicate nose, smells.

Next up, from September another of my favourite brands, Aesop, will introduce a new gel cleanser into their Parsley Seed range. As well as the aforementioned natural ingredient, a famed skin protector, the Parsley Seed Facial Cleanser, £23 for 100ml, contains lactic acid to gobble up dead skin cells. In fact, Aesop HQ suggest you leave it on for a few minutes before rinsing for maximum effect which makes me want to try it even more for the big ‘reveal’ factor.

Update: if you didn’t already know Aesop has just landed at the marvellous Cult Beauty. Huzzah!

